Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | RE: Smells like a phish, is a fish? |
|---|---|
| Date: | Thu, 27 Oct 2005 04:14:58 -0400 |
Well, but godaddy is not the source. As they mention (see http://www.icann.org/registrars/wdrp.htm), this is an ICANN requirement (or at least a logical interpretation of this requirement). It is true though the ICANN suggest sending the information for review in the body of the e-mail. I would also argue that: - People who register domains are more educated than others regarding phishing. - I rechecked the mail I received from them and their instructions did not work for me, but it seems that the method they use which is to provide you with a key in the e-mail, rather than asking for a login might actually be a way to mitigate phishing. ~ Ofer Ofer Shezaf OWASP Israel Chair http://www.owasp.org/local/israel.html CTO, Breach Security Phone (US): +1 (760) 268.1924 ext. 702 Phone (Israel): +972 (9) 956.0036 ext.212 Cell: +972 (54) 443.1119 ofers@breach.com http://www.breach.com
-----Original Message----- From: Andrew van der Stock [mailto:vanderaj@greebo.net] Sent: Thursday, October 27, 2005 9:50 AM To: webappsec@securityfocus.com Subject: Smells like a phish, is a fish? I have my domains registered with a popular registrar, and they've sent the most phishy e-mail I've ever seen from a major provider: --- Dear Andrew van der Stock, It's that time of year again. ICANN (the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) annually requires that all accredited registrars (like Go Daddy(R)) ask their domain administrators/ registrants to review domain name contact data, and make any changes necessary to ensure accuracy. To review/update your contact data, simply: + Go to www.godaddy.com/?isc=ICANNKEY + Click on the "ICANN Domain Confirmation" icon at the top of the page + You will be taken to a landing page and asked to enter your Domain Information Key: <removed> + Enter your key and click "Go." (more phish deleted) --- I confirmed with the registrar that indeed they did send this phishy e-mail. How do we get through to large organizations - who really should know better - that they most of all shouldn't smell like a phish market? thanks, Andrew
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | Re: Smells like a phish, is a fish?, Mat Farrington |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | [Full-disclosure] Re: phpBB 2.0.17 (and other BB systems as well) Cookie disclosure exploit., Nicob |
| Previous by Thread: | Re: Smells like a phish, is a fish?, Todd Hendricks |
| Next by Thread: | RE: Smells like a phish, is a fish?, Damhuis Anton |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |