Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | Re: DNS poisoning or ?? |
|---|---|
| Date: | Tue, 30 Jan 2007 13:29:25 -0600 |
wow, nice...you're right. Bill, even in the header of the message you sent me. it shows that it came from mail.greenborder.com. Interesting. you should also check to make sure that you're server is not somehow setup to forward mail thru it.
Bill,
If you Google for "mail.greenborder.com" you'll find a listing of some message forum posts by you in which the message ID appears to be coming from mail.greenborder.com. Here's one example:
http://archives.neohapsis.com/archives/fulldisclosure/2006-06/0157.html
You'll want to take a look at your mail logs and see if your server is introducing itself to others as the nonexistent name. If so, and that information is getting cached on remote DNS and/or email servers which your server is communicating with, therein may lie the problem. HTH.
Devin
-----Original Message----- From: listbounce@securityfocus.com [mailto:listbounce@securityfocus.com] On Behalf Of Bill Stout Sent: Saturday, January 27, 2007 3:50 PM To: security-basics@securityfocus.com Subject: DNS poisoning or ??
Hello,
I'm working through an intermittent incoming email bounce problem I hope someone can shed some light on. Over the last week, a few major companies are reporting intermittent bounces when sending email to us (maybe 5% of the time). When they do an MX lookup they occasionally obtain a fake hostname and IP address. In their email body the response looks like this:
... connect to mail.greenborder.com [216.52.7.214]: Connection timed out ...
I do not have a host named 'mail.greenborder.com' in my DNS records. The IP address is not a mail server, it's an Internap address. http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=216.52.7.214
<snipped>
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | SF new column announcement: The New Vista Waiting Game, Kelly Martin |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | IPSonar, jack603_ny |
| Previous by Thread: | RE: DNS poisoning or ??, Devin Rambo |
| Next by Thread: | SF new column announcement: The New Vista Waiting Game, Kelly Martin |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |