Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | RE: DNS poisoning or ?? (Found by Paul daSilva) |
|---|---|
| Date: | Mon, 29 Jan 2007 08:45:13 -0800 |
Brilliant! You found the source! I'll go contact them right away. Thanks for your help! Bill Stout GreenBorder -----Original Message----- From: Paul daSilva [mailto:pdasilva@polr.org] Sent: Monday, January 29, 2007 8:22 AM To: Bill Stout; security-basics@securityfocus.com Subject: Re: DNS poisoning or ?? Importance: High Hi Bill, This indeed sounds like a problem, and I do see something very fishy going on: Knowing that the suspected IP address is on the Internap network, if you issue an nslookup against one of the Internap DNS servers for information regarding your domain (greenborder.com), you will notice that the Internap DNS server is handing out false/misleading information for mail.greenborder.com when #1) they don't own the domain in question, and #2) such DNS record does not exist for the domain in question. $ whois internap.com [...] Domain servers in listed order: NS-A.PNAP.NET 64.94.123.4 NS-B.PNAP.NET 64.94.123.36 NS-C.PNAP.NET 64.95.61.4 NS-D.PNAP.NET 64.95.61.36 [...] $ nslookup > server 64.94.123.36 Default server: 64.94.123.36 Address: 64.94.123.36#53 > mail.greenborder.com Server: 64.94.123.36 Address: 64.94.123.36#53 Name: mail.greenborder.com Address: 216.52.7.214 Interestingly enough, if you lookup the same record against the primary DNS servers listed when you issue a $ whois 216.52.7.214, the DNS servers NS1.PNAP.NET (206.253.194.65) and NS2.PNAP.NET (206.253.194.97) cannot resolve mail.greenborder.com (as they should, since it does not exist). So the issue at hand is being propagated by the other DNS servers listed above NS-A through NS-D.PNAP.NET (on the 64.95.x.x network). I would highly suggest that you email noc@internap.com and abuse@internap.com citing your problem. Internap should be able to find the culprit on their network and either terminate their connection or resolve whatever the issue on their side. Unless this is an old/outdated record that you have not cleaned up, I would consider this a DNS poisoning attack. Cheers, Paul Bill Stout wrote:
Hello, I'm working through an intermittent incoming email bounce problem I
hope
someone can shed some light on. Over the last week, a few major companies are reporting intermittent bounces when sending email to us (maybe 5% of the time). When they do an MX lookup they occasionally obtain a fake hostname and IP address. In their email body the
response
looks like this: ... connect to mail.greenborder.com [216.52.7.214]: Connection timed out ... I do not have a host named 'mail.greenborder.com' in my DNS records. The IP address is not a mail server, it's an Internap address. http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=216.52.7.214 I'm suspecting DNS cache poisoning, but it's happening at remote sites and I don't have much data go on. Since these are larger companies I don't expect they have vulnerable DNS servers. My MX records are here: http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup.ch?name=greenborder.com&type=MX (Temporarily modified for troubleshooting purposes) greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 USC1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET. [Preference = 10] greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 MAILGATE.greenborder.com. [Preference = 1]
greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 USP1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET. [Preference = 5] greenborder.com. NS IN 7200 NS31.WORLDNIC.com. greenborder.com. NS IN 7200 NS32.WORLDNIC.com. MAILGATE.greenborder.com. A IN 7200 66.123.15.52 Our DNS records are hosted by Network Solutions, so I called them looking for help from one of their security experts. Of course
Customer
Support answers, and their guys are _absolutely clueless_ on how DNS works. When I mention bounces due to MX record lookups they keep referring me to 'the provider who hosts my email service', apparently reading from a flowchart script, and speaking in a fake American
accent.
When I mention MX records are DNS records, they say 'you have exceeded the ability of customer support, we need to forward this to engineering'. I told them it was urgent, to escalate to security, and asked for someone in their security team to call me. I'm not
expecting
much help from Network Solutions, I think all they do is produce
banner
ads and ask you to buy something each time you talk to them. Any knowledgeable help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance, Bill Stout GreenBorder
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | RE: Notebook policy (need advice), Steveb |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | RE: DNS poisoning or ??, Devin Rambo |
| Previous by Thread: | Re: DNS poisoning or ??, Paul daSilva |
| Next by Thread: | RE: DNS poisoning or ?? (Found by Paul daSilva), Bill Stout |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |