Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | RE: nasty new url insertion program |
|---|---|
| Date: | Tue, 5 Oct 2004 08:46:52 -0500 |
It is possible that a script on the page is vulnerable to "http response splitting". I would suggest googling it, because I don't have any links handy, but that would allow somebody to poison the cache of a caching server between him and his site with a fake web page. I don't quite understand your questions, but it seems to me that that could be a possibility. Hope that helps! Ron Bowes Information Protection Centre Government Of Manitoba -----Original Message----- From: Alex Gogan [mailto:alex@fbi.ie] Sent: Friday, October 01, 2004 7:21 AM To: security-basics@securityfocus.com Subject: nasty new url insertion program Hi All, Just a quick note, a client rang me this morning in a panic saying the site we developed and hosted was compromised, what was happening was every time he made a change on the CMS system to one of the pages, where there was a URL field it would (he was unaware) insert "http://younghotgirls.net/2504/" it was only when he was checking the pages online did he notice this. Needless to say I told him to download the spy ware and antivirus to try and catch this but I must admit I find this troubling. Has anybody else found or heard of something similar ?? -- Alex Gogan alex@fbi.ie Future Business Intercommunications ~The Complete Internet Services Company~ http://www.fbi.ie Communications House 11 Leeson Park Villas, Sallymount Avenue, Ranelagh, Dublin 6, Ireland Tel:+353.14988588 | Fax: +353.14988589 Web: www.fbi.ie | Email: alex@fbi.ie
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | RE: Anyone know any good Assembly Language tutorials?, james_love |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | Re: Windows 98 box is 'owned', GuidoZ |
| Previous by Thread: | nasty new url insertion program, Alex Gogan |
| Next by Thread: | TCP/IP CRC question, Jorge Mendez Bonini |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |