Ethical Hacking

Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package.
Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute

Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors.




Network Security Incidents
[Top] [All Lists]

RE: A pretty neat Chase Phish

Subject: RE: A pretty neat Chase Phish
Date: Mon, 13 Mar 2006 15:11:18 -0500
Some notable distinctions are:

1.  yes, it does say it is an HTTPS address, however,
2.  there is no security certificate in the bottom right corner.
3.  there is no security certificate information in the properties tab for
this page.
4.  the URL does NOT start with www.chase.com
5.  the browser even shows the IP rather than Chase.com
6.  if you do a whois lookup on the IP at ARIN you'll see its registered in
Latin American/Caribbean registry
7.  if you use neotrace pro you'll see that the IP is in Santa Fe De Bogota
8.  the are errors on the page.....

Just my two cents..........

Robin Noyes


-----Original Message-----
From: Bob [mailto:Bob@dexis.net] 
Sent: Saturday, March 11, 2006 7:20 PM
To: incidents@securityfocus.com
Subject: A pretty neat Chase Phish

This in one of the PHISHES I caught yesterday.

It is still active as of this email

It purports to be Chase Bank and wants me to validate my information, 
how clever.

But this is a VERY SOPHISTICATED PHISH --- it looks real and even 
simulates an HTTPS address

It does appear different in different browsers, looks most authentic in 
IE, Firefox looks pretty bad and non-convincing.

http://www.google.com/url?q=http://200.75.49.126/webpai/webpai/images/chase_
com/index.html

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>