Ethical Hacking

Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package.
Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute

Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors.




Network Security Incidents
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: Strange SMTP sessions with 'helo=<large negative number>' syntax

Subject: Re: Strange SMTP sessions with 'helo=<large negative number>' syntax
Date: Thu, 29 Dec 2005 08:10:14 -0500
hehe, didnt even notice max untill i hit reply...


the this be a screwy way to get some poor implementation of
gethostbyname() (windows?) to interpret as an ip address? i vaguely
recall an ie flaw a few years back doing something similar to disguise
urls.. but i think they were removing dots like this:

http://19216818/pornsite.html 

dont remember 
-phar


On Thu, 2005-12-29 at 00:33 -0800, mis@seiden.com wrote:
this has been going on for weeks.

i believe they're all open proxies or spambots.

(some of us use this as an oracle for open proxies.)

On Wed, Dec 28, 2005 at 04:39:14PM -0500, max wrote:
Hello all,
I find this inmy logs throughout the day today:

Dec 28 16:35:52 finn postfix/smtpd[13320]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from 
pcp0012209034pcs.blairblvd.tn.nash.comcast.net[69.245.57.210]: 501 
<-1217882552>: Helo command rejected: Invalid name; 
from=<shuu@grandlakeindexing.com> 
to=<dylanfans-unsubscribe@dylanirvana.com> proto=SMTP helo=<-1217882552>

Notice that helo section is a negative number (which is why my postfix 
rejects the message)
There are about 5 messages a minute at its peak, and this has been going on 
most of the day today (EST time zone)
Some of the connecting IP's are listed in various black lists, such as OPM.

Has anyone noticed this as well? Is this a virus or just some new spam tool?
Some more rejected messages below:

Dec 28 16:37:50 finn postfix/smtpd[34627]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from 
cpe-66-75-65-130.socal.res.rr.com[66.75.65.130]: 501 <-1218008120>: Helo 
command rejected: Invalid name; from=<Laudat@gma-consulting-fr.com> 
to=<dylanfans-unsubscribe@dylanirvana.com> proto=SMTP helo=<-1218008120>

Dec 28 16:37:54 finn postfix/smtpd[13320]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from 
unknown[219.130.49.89]: 554 Service unavailable; Client host 
[219.130.49.89] blocked using opm.blitzed.org; Open proxy - see 
http://opm.blitzed.org/219.130.49.89; from=<burkel@greenacresmortgage.com> 
to=<max@neuropunks.org> proto=SMTP helo=<-1209697480>

Dec 28 16:38:10 finn postfix/smtpd[34627]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from 
194-144-9-218.du.xdsl.is[194.144.9.218]: 501 <-1209697480>: Helo command 
rejected: Invalid name; from=<brenno@grandslamtennistours.com> 
to=<max@neuropunks.org> proto=SMTP helo=<-1209697480>

Thanks,

Max

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>