Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | RE: [Full-disclosure] Can Someone Tell Me What This Is? |
|---|---|
| Date: | Sat, 28 Jan 2006 21:08:01 +0100 |
Hi, actually i have another question of a similar ballpark, so i can't really answer your question, but did a virustotal scan on it anyway (got the url from a previous fd post) so as not to post "empty handed". What i noted is this: I've been receiving emails on a few accounts eversince a couple of days.. Their subject is Hey, somebody! --where "somebody" is the user part of the email. But no virus, no attached files, no body, no content. The resemblence is only that like in your case, this is an email that probably has a purpose that we don't know about :-) An idea for my own case: somebody bought /made some forwards with many domains, and they check to see who responds to these, in order to make a nifty low bounce rate spam list. What do you think? Domains that were specified for a "sender" in the emails: Workpermit.com, snowcrest.com, aada.com, novellus.com. All i could find in my trash so far :) For your masturbation-capable virus: This is a report processed by VirusTotal on 01/28/2006 at 20:56:23 (CET) after scanning the file "masttyc.exe" file. Antivirus Version Update Result AntiVir 6.33.0.81 01.28.2006 no virus found Avast 4.6.695.0 01.27.2006 no virus found AVG 718 01.27.2006 no virus found Avira 6.33.0.81 01.27.2006 no virus found BitDefender 7.2 01.28.2006 no virus found CAT-QuickHeal 8.00 01.27.2006 no virus found ClamAV devel-20051123 01.28.2006 no virus found DrWeb 4.33 01.28.2006 no virus found eTrust-InoculateIT 23.71.62 01.28.2006 no virus found eTrust-Vet 12.4.2058 01.27.2006 no virus found Ewido 3.5 01.28.2006 no virus found Fortinet 2.54.0.0 01.28.2006 no virus found F-Prot 3.16c 01.28.2006 no virus found Ikarus 0.2.59.0 01.27.2006 no virus found Kaspersky 4.0.2.24 01.28.2006 no virus found McAfee 4684 01.27.2006 no virus found NOD32v2 1.1385 01.28.2006 no virus found Norman 5.70.10 01.27.2006 no virus found Panda 9.0.0.4 01.28.2006 no virus found Sophos 4.02.0 01.28.2006 no virus found Symantec 8.0 01.28.2006 no virus found TheHacker 5.9.3.082 01.27.2006 no virus found UNA 1.83 01.27.2006 no virus found VBA32 3.10.5 01.28.2006 no virus found Php0t -----Original Message----- From: full-disclosure-bounces@lists.grok.org.uk [mailto:full-disclosure-bounces@lists.grok.org.uk] On Behalf Of y0himba Sent: Saturday, January 28, 2006 8:23 PM To: full-disclosure@lists.grok.org.uk Subject: [Full-disclosure] Can Someone Tell Me What This Is? Hi. Got this in an email, have no idea if it is just some stupid command line joke or if it does something I don't know about. Attached, .rar format Win32 .exe inside. I have attached the source code. Subject line, "Masturbation Tycoon". I am not a programmer at all, but there seems to be nothing suspicious in the source code either. Maybe I missed something in my newbness? Ran it in a sandbox, didn't seem to do anything odd. AVG, AntiVir and Bitdefender all say nothing about it. I am paranoid however. Thanks for any input. -----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK----- Version: 3.1 GCM/GIT/GO d- s: a C++++$ UL++++ P++++ L++++ E++++ W++++ N+++++ o++++ K++ w O- M- V-- PS+ PE Y++ PGP++ t+ 5-- X+++++ R* tv++ b+++++ DI++ D++++ G++ e h---- r+++ y++++ ------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------ Get Your Geek Code: http://www.geekcode.com _______________________________________________ Full-Disclosure - We believe in it. Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | [Full-disclosure] PmWiki Multiple Vulnerabilities, ascii |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | [Full-disclosure] -moz-binding CSS property: more XSS fun, Nikolas Coukouma |
| Previous by Thread: | [Full-disclosure] Can Someone Tell Me What This Is?, y0himba |
| Next by Thread: | [Full-disclosure] PmWiki Multiple Vulnerabilities, ascii |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |