Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | Re: [Full-Disclosure] Suspect phpBB users |
|---|---|
| Date: | Sun, 26 Dec 2004 18:48:03 -0500 |
That doesn't mean the ndervyanko fella is the perpetrator, but most likely the victim.
This could very likely be true. It seemed like they were trying to advertise a commercial website the same way spam does.
I don't read Russian, and my Lynx doesn't display it either. Looks like some search form.
[snip]
From the way it looks, it seems to be an apology saying something like the site got Slashdotted or so. Perhaps a Russian member of FD could confirm/translate.
I don't speak Russian either, hence why I couldn't provide much more info. Maybe someone on FD that does could translate. =)
To me it looks like the author didn't like those two sites and was hoping to DoS them, instead of attracting users for ... dunno... Rolex offers or something... Probably a couple Russian teens attempting to throw the wrath of insecure PHP systems at each other. :)
An interesting thought indeed - and quite possible. Hopefully a translation could provide more information. -- Peace. ~G On Sun, 26 Dec 2004 11:29:32 -0600, Frank Knobbe <frank@knobbe.us> wrote:
On Sun, 2004-12-26 at 06:57 -0500, GuidoZ wrote:I also noticed that the "nderevyanko" user has put up a number of posts to sites with the same text:That doesn't mean the ndervyanko fella is the perpetrator, but most likely the victim.http://softexpert.atspace.comI don't read Russian, and my Lynx doesn't display it either. Looks like some search form.http://nderevyanko.narod.ru/Again, I don't read Russian, but a page appears, slowly, after an initial HTTP 404. From the way it looks, it seems to be an apology saying something like the site got Slashdotted or so. Perhaps a Russian member of FD could confirm/translate. To me it looks like the author didn't like those two sites and was hoping to DoS them, instead of attracting users for ... dunno... Rolex offers or something... Probably a couple Russian teens attempting to throw the wrath of insecure PHP systems at each other. :) Cheers, Frank
_______________________________________________ Full-Disclosure - We believe in it. Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | [Full-Disclosure] Delivery Failed (full-disclosure@lists.netsys.com), blue |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | Re: [Full-Disclosure] new phpBB worm affects 2.0.11, Andrew Farmer |
| Previous by Thread: | [Full-Disclosure] Suspect phpBB users, Jack Yan |
| Next by Thread: | [Full-Disclosure] Any study on patch availability?, sudhakar+fulldisclosure |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |