Ethical Hacking Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package. | Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors. |

| Subject: | Re: DNS poisoning? |
|---|---|
| Date: | Mon, 29 Jan 2007 12:06:26 -0600 |
I wonder how many of those messages the person who sent you the original bounce received. I'm thinking what if they(spammer) sent out 1000s of messages with an invalid From server and invalid users. The receiving server would try to send the bounce message back 1000's of time and keep retrying. So it could be some kind of DOS against the person who sent you the original bounce message. just a thought.
Am Samstag, 27. Januar 2007 04:23 schrieb Bill Stout: > Hello, > > I'm working through an intermittent incoming email bounce problem I hope > someone can shed some light on. A few major companies are reporting > intermittent bounces when sending email to us. > > Someone forwarded a bounce message which contained the following > information: > > ... connect to mail.greenborder.com [216.52.7.214]: Connection timed > out ... > > I do not have a host named 'mail.greenborder.com' in my DNS records. > The IP address is not a mail server, it's an Internap address. > http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=216.52.7.214 > > I tried to obtain help through the DNS experts at Network Solutions > through Customer Support; their Customer Support guys are _absolutely > clueless_ on how DNS works. They keep referring me to 'the provider who > hosts my email service'. > > My MX records are here: > http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup.ch?name=greenborder.com&type=MX > (Temporarily modified for troubleshooting purposes) > > greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 USC1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET. [Preference = 10] > greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 MAILGATE.greenborder.com. [Preference = 1] > greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 USP1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET. [Preference = 5] > greenborder.com. NS IN 7200 NS31.WORLDNIC.com. > greenborder.com. NS IN 7200 NS32.WORLDNIC.com. > MAILGATE.greenborder.com. A IN 7200 66.123.15.52 > > Any help would be appreciated. > > TIA, > > Bill Stout
Lokks like a spammer for me. Due to a mailserver is looking for a response from a DNS, a spammer redirects it to his own Client (from which he wants to spam). So tehere are to advantages: He can send with any address he wants to, and sometimes it is faster.
Please correct me, if I am wrong.
regards
Hans
| <Prev in Thread] | Current Thread | [Next in Thread> |
|---|---|---|
| ||
| Previous by Date: | Re: DNS poisoning?, Hans-J. Ullrich |
|---|---|
| Next by Date: | RE: DNS poisoning? (Solved), Bill Stout |
| Previous by Thread: | Re: DNS poisoning?, Hans-J. Ullrich |
| Next by Thread: | RE: DNS poisoning? (Solved), Bill Stout |
| Indexes: | [Date] [Thread] [Top] [All Lists] |