Ethical Hacking

Learn to find vulnerabilities before the bad guys do! Gain real world hands on hacking experience in our state of the art hacking lab. Course designed and taught by expert instructors with years of penetration testing experience. 12 student maximum in every class. Certification attempt included in every package.
Computer Forensics Training at InfoSec Institute

Gain the in-demand skills of a certified computer examiner, learn to recover trace data left behind by fraud, theft, and cybercrime perpetrators. Discover the source of computer crime and abuse at your organization so that it never happens again. All of our class sizes are guaranteed to be 12 students or less to facilitate one-on-one interaction with one of our expert instructors.




Network Security Firewalls
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: DNS poisoning?

Subject: Re: DNS poisoning?
Date: Mon, 29 Jan 2007 11:22:26 -0500
On Jan 26, 2007, at 10:23 PM, Bill Stout wrote:

Hello,

I'm working through an intermittent incoming email bounce problem I hope
someone can shed some light on. A few major companies are reporting
intermittent bounces when sending email to us.


Someone forwarded a bounce message which contained the following
information:

  ... connect to mail.greenborder.com [216.52.7.214]: Connection timed
out ...

I do not have a host named 'mail.greenborder.com' in my DNS records.
The IP address is not a mail server, it's an Internap address.
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=216.52.7.214

I tried to obtain help through the DNS experts at Network Solutions
through Customer Support; their Customer Support guys are _absolutely
clueless_ on how DNS works. They keep referring me to 'the provider who
hosts my email service'.


My MX records are here:
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup.ch?name=greenborder.com&type=MX
(Temporarily modified for troubleshooting purposes)

greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 USC1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET. [Preference = 10]
greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 MAILGATE.greenborder.com. [Preference = 1]
greenborder.com. MX IN 7200 USP1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET. [Preference = 5]
greenborder.com. NS IN 7200 NS31.WORLDNIC.com.
greenborder.com. NS IN 7200 NS32.WORLDNIC.com.
MAILGATE.greenborder.com. A IN 7200 66.123.15.52

Any help would be appreciated.

Your records look fine on my end. Both ns31 and ns32.worldnic.com return the following MX records:


greenborder.com. 7200 IN MX 5 USP1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET.
greenborder.com. 7200 IN MX 10 USC1.MAILHOSTSXODE.NET.
greenborder.com. 7200 IN MX 15 MAILGATE.greenborder.com.


You need to find out which resolvers are returning the bad records to your senders.

HTH.

--
Jason Dixon
DixonGroup Consulting
http://www.dixongroup.net



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>